All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Calcium and iron...
      #367627 - 06/17/12 04:31 PM
sunrise

Reged: 06/17/12

Hello again! As I am quite new to this (only 4 days into it...) I wonder how one gets enough calcium and iron without eating any dairy or red meat - especially in the beginning. Any info would be helpful - but please do not suggest beans or greens (or similar) at this point ;-)

Another question, for those of you who are further into it - (how/when) did you manage to add back some dairy and red meat as time went on? Any tips on how to do it in the least painful way? Just eating soluble fiber first, small servings, cut up in small pieces? I am low on iron to begin with and I could not take any iron supplements (ibs-c), red meat has been an important part of my diet...

Thanks for any help!

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Calcium and iron... new
      #367634 - 06/19/12 05:17 AM
Susie1985

Reged: 05/04/11

it's not really possible to get enough iron, calcium, magnesium on an IBS-FODMAP friendly diet. Zinc is also problematic as are some B vitamins.

Mg:
I've had a really traumatic experience with magnesium citrate but I now take a chelated magnesium, which seems fine. Diet-wise, the main safe source of magnesium is porridge but noone will really eat enough porridge to get the amounts recommended by the USDA, so magnesium still needs to be supplemented.

Ca:
Soya milk if you can drink it is usually calcium fortified Otherwise I am not sure what other sources there are apart from supplementation. Fortunately for me, the generic one (Ca with Vit D) from Sainsbury's is cheap and unproblematic. I take two with Mg with the last meal of the day.

Fe: