All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
update on stool test and levbid
      #321137 - 12/23/07 08:49 AM
Little Minnie

Reged: 04/16/04
Loc: Minnesota

As many of you know I have been doing horribly for about 3 months. My GI doc recommended pep caps before every meal to calm my gut and prevent spasms. It really wasn't strong enough to help so I filled the prescription for low dose levbid he gave me. This is helping but not as much as I'd like. I am actually not having side effects though like I have before on levbid and bentyl. I might inquire about getting a larger dose now. It is definitely taking away the pain but the bloating is only a little better and the gas is also somewhat better.
The stool test I had done is back and it shows very low beneficial bacteria especially bifida. I have taken probiotics for 3 months so this shows how bad I must have been when starting. I also have a slight candida overgrowth but just +1. A few red blood cells were seen as well and my immune system in the gut was taxed. I am going to take an acid supplement that helps kill the candida called caproyl and up my probiotics to a higher dose.
I am also cutting back on sugar better than a few weeks ago. Anyway I wanted to post these results so that it gives some info to anyone in the same position.

--------------------
IBS-A for 20 years with terrible bloating and gas. On the diet since April 2004. Remember this from Heather's information pages:
"You absolutely must eat insoluble fiber foods, and as much as safely possible, but within the IBS dietary guidelines. Treat insoluble fiber foods with suitable caution, and you'll be able to enjoy a wide variety of them, in very healthy quantities, without problem." Please eat IF foods!

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: update on stool test and levbid new
      #321139 - 12/23/07 09:42 AM
jenUK

Reged: 12/01/07
Loc: warwickshire, uk