All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
New to the messageboards...Trying to get past all this
      #315772 - 09/30/07 11:14 AM
sweetsierra1225

Reged: 09/29/07
Loc: Chicago suburbs, IL

I am new to this website and messageboard. My name is Angela. I am 29 years old. I am a nurse and live in the Chicagoland area. Here is a little about my story.

I was diagnosed with IBS and GERD when I was about 17 or 18 years old. I dont remember to much about the physical pain but I remember that things were so bad I could not even hold down a sip of water. That was a long time ago...And now, that is all a different story. A few weeks a go I noticed a change in my bowel habits. I also noticed that pretty much after every meal I felt so full and bloated no matter what I ate. I was getting miserable. I also had this horrible burining sensation in the upper part of my abdomen. A few days later it turned into the abdominal cramps. I went to my MD and he drew some blood and also checked for H.pylori, the culprit in most ulcer cases. He ordered me some Prevacid and sent me home. I went to the ER a few days later. They realized it was my IBS that came back and they are associating it with stress. Imagine that? My grandmother passed away a few weeks ago, and I do have a pretty stressful job!! They gave me some Bentyl and sent me home. I came to this website for ideas on what to eat. I have been trying to stay with VERY bland foods. White toast, chicken broth..etc. I am finding still though that afer everything that I am eating...I still am feeling pretty miserable with the cramping and excessive bloating.

I just have a few questions.
What ideas does anyone have to help relieve the bloating and cramps?
Is it just me or does anyone else find after they eat, they "belch" everything up for a little while after they finished, while having an IBS exacerbation?