All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Where to start
      #28665 - 11/24/03 11:35 AM
Samm

Reged: 11/24/03
Loc: Florida

Am a new user. Please tell me whether I can use sugar, eggs, fish or a spread on bread. What will I use with pasta
rice. Tell me if I am using this site properly.

Samantha Mahoney

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Where I started new
      #28669 - 11/24/03 11:44 AM
bauie25

Reged: 11/23/03
Loc: Iowa

I'm new at this whole thing too. I've read tons of material on IBS (check out as much on this site as you can, it's VERY valuable).

*I use Splenda instead of sugar (it tastes awesome on plain cheerios )
*NO EGG YOLKS (very dangerous), but egg whites, egg beaters, better 'n eggs worked fine for me
*fish has always set well with me as long as it's not breaded or fried in oil(try Mahi-Mahi or Talipia...mmmm) if you go out to Red Lobster, the Talipia in a bag has butter--so don't get it! Make sure you ask about what all contains butter b/c you can get the veggies just steamed without butter
*Spreads: either fat-free "I can't believe it's not butter" (don't stir it up in the container, it gets gross) or promise fat-free butter, and as for jelly/jam-> Smuckers low-sugar preserves--very good!
*Pasta & Rice: I try to use ff chicken broth (no msg added) with as many things as I can-- if you try the message board for recipes and foods, you'll probably get more responses!! Good luck!

--------------------
"If the sun isn't shining on your path... maybe you're not on the right one" --Me

Re: Where to start new
      #28670 - 11/24/03 11:51 AM
michele

Reged: 06/02/03
Loc: southeastern michigan

Hello and welcome!

Sugar does not seem to be a GI irratant, most people can tolerate it but it has no dietart purpose so best to use small amounts.

Fish is GREAT, I eat bakes salmon and tuna all the time.