All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1
Secrets of My Success!
      #122366 - 11/16/04 10:29 AM
LauraSue

Reged: 01/14/04
Loc: New York City

I was thinking last night that in addition to the things I DON'T do that help me stay stable for 10 months now, there are certain things that I absolutely always do every day, mostly in the supplement/meds area. So I thought I'd share that too. (Remember this is just what works for me, I'm not a doctor so I can't give anyone advice.)

Every day I do the following without fail:

1. Take my SFS before each meal (for me, Metamucil and I built up REALLY slow, so don't go there all at once!)

2. Take my antispasmodic, Bentyl, 20mg, twice a day.

3. Take my anti-gas caplets, generic simethicone, 180mg, two every morning.

4. Take my probiotic, acidophilus, 1B CFU, one with breakfast, one with lunch.

5. Take Imodium aggresively, not every day, but at the least iffy feeling.

And of course I follow Heather's diet and eat small portions at regular intervals (every two hours), plus all the healthy lifestyle stuff like regular bedtime, regular exercise, etc.

Hope this helps someone!

--------------------
Laura
Keep it simple!

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Secrets of My Success! new
      #122373 - 11/16/04 10:37 AM
NikkiZ52

Reged: 05/16/04

Thank you for sharing LauraSue!!

Can I ask you a question about Bentyl? new
      #122536 - 11/16/04 04:14 PM
Sandyg

Reged: 09/13/04

I have a prescription for it but the instructions are take as needed every 6 hours. Is it best to take each day to prevent something from happening? I wanted something to stop my spastic colon when I get nervous or something and that's why the doctor prescribed it. I've only taken it a few times after I started going more than I like. (not D but just going alot).

Any thoughts?
Thanks,
Sandy

Re: Can I ask you a question about Bentyl? new
      #122550 - 11/16/04 04:43 PM
Kree

Reged: 10/08/03