All Boards >> Eating for IBS Diet Board

Posts     Flat       Threaded

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Advice from IBS-C'ers needed? Why did my diet fail?
      #117675 - 11/01/04 07:51 AM
KimGun

Reged: 10/15/04
Loc: St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Caribbean

I am fairly new to Heather's diet, and trying to adjust and get it right. I am severely IBS-C. I was doing fine on the diet for a few days, and then (because I was away from home) I tried some black bean soup containing white rice, and a small salad afterwards. I have been in spasm pain for a couple of days. Is it the beans that may have caused the problem...as I thought it would be okay with the rice.
Also I have bought some citrucel and benefiber and wondered which to try first, and at what dosage. Would appreciate all your advice. Thanks.

Print     Remind Me     Notify Moderator    

Re: Advice from IBS-C'ers needed? Why did my diet fail? new
      #117678 - 11/01/04 08:30 AM
Jennifer Rose

Reged: 04/02/03
Loc: Fremont, CA

Hi Kim,

You may find this surprising since this is supposed to be healthy for you, but it might have been the salad that's giving you pains. A lot of IBSers (including myself) cannot tolerate raw vegetables. I know if I had a salad, I'd be in pain for days too!

The beans might have played a small role if you had a lot of them. Your body might not be used to all the fiber you're adding to your diet.

As for the citrucel and benefiber, it's up to you which one you want to try first. I personally like the citrucel better, but I know there's other people here who prefer to the benefiber. For dosages, check out Heather's supplement page on her website (link is on the left menu bar).

--------------------
- Jennifer

#117692 - 11/01/04 09:16 AM
KimGun

Thanks for the advice re raw salad.... but how do you take salad or subsitutes for salad. I have had salad before and didn't seem to have any problems. However, it is the first time I am trying beans, and I did have quite a lot.